Seven Bridges Walk on a Perfect Day

“The rain has moved on
And left a new day
Nothing seems to move everything is still
It’s just a perfect day.”
~Miriam Stockley
 

The lyrics to that song by Miriam Stockely (from the Tales of Beatrix Potter) basically sum it up.  Click on this link to play the song while you read my post (you’ll have to reopen my blog) and then you’ll know what I was singing in my head all day long and while I wrote this post…

The forecast for last Saturday was dry and mostly sunny; the only dry day at the end of a very wet and soggy week.  Much to my delight, the skies were all blue when I awoke with only a gentle wind.  It felt wonderfully warm even though it was only in the fifties all day.  I jumped out of bed (no I didn’t, but I willed my eyes to open faster than normal) and we all rushed around to get out the door so as not to miss out on the perfect day.  My mother-in-law Gayle is here visiting us and she loves the outdoors so she was just as eager as I to get out and enjoy the sunshine and nature.  We decided to do the Seven Bridges Walk at Studley Royal, a popular walk recommended to me by a friend.  We’re so glad we did it as it was the perfect morning: a lovely walk along the river in the sun, then sandwiches and tea in the garden at the lakeside tea room, and finished off with ice cream from the Dales ice cream truck in the car park.  A perfect day.

Bridges #3 &4

A closer look at one of the bridges.

Bridge #5. The water was extremely high due to all the rain last week.

Bridge #7

Bluebells

A view of Ripon with the Ripon Cathedral rising from the center.

A lovely cottage we passed. It had a well-kept garden on the left side, a small apple orchard on the right, and a couple of barns in the back. So beautifully typical.

The fields of these wildflowers are just breathtaking and can be seen from miles away as bright yellow bands on the countryside.

Gayle insisted on pushing the girls AND carrying the diaper bag so I could take photos. I didn’t argue.

About Em

These are my stories of expat life in northern England and beyond.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seven Bridges Walk on a Perfect Day

  1. Mandy H says:

    SO beautiful, Em. I always love all your posts. Makes me miss you guys more and more! give your ladies a squeeze for me. let’s chat soon!

  2. Padre says:

    Wow!! What a beautiful day. Thanks for sharing.

  3. rita says:

    Your photos are stunning!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I love that song! And I cannot believe that these scenes are real. Everything is so very fairy-tale. Absolutely breathtaking, Em.

Leave a Reply

