Free Range Eggs

I just pulled two loaves of zucchini bread out of the oven and savored two thick and warm slices with cream cheese on top.  A friend recently asked me if I might share the recipes that I am baking on my blog and this will be easy, because I get most of my inspiration from my favorite food blogger at The Triangle PlateHere’s the best zucchini recipe EVER!  I realized today, that between the months of June through mid September in Virginia, I wouldn’t even think of going near an oven to bake anything unless it has been raining ALL day.  Here in England, that’s not the case.  I can bake any time day or night, sun or shine and I welcome the warmth from the oven because we don’t dare turn on the heat yet.  Joel and I haven’t discussed it yet, but I think we’re both waiting for our “summer” to end (September 1st?) to fire up the oil radiators.

When we moved out to the country in early July, we discovered that many people keep free range laying hens.  Our neighbors, in fact, have about 15 laying hens that stay inside the fence only during feeding times.  Most of the day we can see them roaming free through the alley, our front yard and down through the neighborhood!  Elena gets a kick out of these roaming hens and I often hear her say, “Hi gallo!”  Many people with property along a busy road take advantage of their location and sell their eggs simply by putting up a sign that says “Free Range Eggs” and usually sold for around £2.50 or £3.00 per dozen.  The sign almost always sits on a large plastic tub and inside are stacked half-dozen cartons of fresh eggs, with a small box to drop in your coins.  I was initially overjoyed to discover that they sell free range eggs at our local gardening center for only £2 a dozen, right there on the counter in a basket.  I was determined to buy all our eggs from there until Joel found eggs at the cheapest price we’ve seen so far right on his way to work.

They’re only £1.80 a dozen!  Remember, Joel is paid in American dollars, so the with the pound to dollar exchange rate hovering around 1.7, we’re still paying $2.98 for those eggs (a bargain even in the US!).  This vendor is smart too, because not only does she set out fresh eggs, but I’ve seen bags of potatoes and baking apples for sale too.  You can’t buy any more local than this, and I admire this beautiful cottage every time I visit.

About Em

These are my stories of expat life in northern England and beyond.
This entry was posted in food, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free Range Eggs

  1. How wonderful! Elena is so sweet! What fun she must be having with all these new experiences!

  2. rita says:

    I want to buy eggs that way!!!! What fun memories you are creating for a lifetime! I love the photos! Just what I would imagine. Could you take pictures of the basket of eggs and the container that you drop the coins in? I’d love to see that also.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Such a free-range-fairy-tale! I loved this, and I cannot believe the little “cottage” where you just swing by whenever you need fresh eggs. If I weren’t so happy for you, I’d be insanely jealous! Eggs for one and all!

Leave a comment